Dixon on 2019 college football HOF ballot

By soonersports.com
 — The National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Football Hall of Fame announced the 2019 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday and former University of Oklahoma standout Rickey Dixon earned a spot as one of 76 players listed from the Football Bowl Subdivision.

A 1987 consensus All-American, Dixon, who was also on the 2017 and ’18 Hall of Fame ballots, was the first Sooner to win the Jim Thorpe Award, given to college football’s top defensive back. He earned first-team All-Big Eight honors as a junior and senior in 1986 and ’87, and finished his career with 170 total tackles and 17 interceptions. His 17 career interceptions are one shy of the OU record while his nine picks in 1987 still stand as the school single-season standard.

See the rest of the story HERE.

Leave a Reply