3 SWOSU players named to NABC Honors Court

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) today announced the 2017-18 NABC Honors Court, recognizing those men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the past season.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University men’s basketball had three individuals named to the court in Collin Jennings, Luke Lewallen and Nick Shoemaker, with each player earning the honor for the second consecutive season.

Jennings exhausted his eligibility last season, majoring in Healthy Science while playing three years for the Bulldogs after starting his career at Missouri-Kansas City. Lewallen, an accounting major from Elk City, and Shoemaker, a management major from Bartlesville, have both been at SWOSU for four years but have one season of eligibility remaining after redshirting during their first season.

The NABC Honors Court recognizes the talents and gifts that these men possess off the court and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom. In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria.

The qualifications are as follows:

  1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.
  2. Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2017-18 academic year.
  3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.
  4. Member of a NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach.

Lewallen and Shoemaker are two of six seniors on the SWOSU men’s basketball roster, and are set to open the 2018-19 season Nov. 9-10 at the GAC / MIAA Challenge in Tahlequah.

Get our free daily email update on all the stories on oksportsreview.com HERE. To submit stories or information on sports in Oklahoma, please send an email to craig@oksportsreview.com. Like oksportsreview.com on Facebook HERE or follow us on Twitter HERE.

Leave a Reply